BUS News

Management scholar named awardee of RGC Humanities and Social Sciences Prestigious Fellowship Scheme

15 Jul, 2022
img Dr. Rongjun Yu, Associate Professor in the Department of Management of the HKBU School of Business, has been awarded a Humanities and Social Sciences Prestigious Fellowship, 2022/23 under the Research Grants Council (RGC). Dr. Yu is the sole awardee from HKBU this year.

Dr. Yu’s funded project, entitled “A neurocognitive theory of unethical behaviour and implications for organizational behaviour”, will review the literature on unethical behaviour and show how the current neurocognitive model explains a range of phenomenon in organisational settings. New hypotheses will be derived from this theory, and a list of actionable and low-cost nudging interventions for policymakers and practitioners will be compiled and discussed. The project will contribute to the understanding of why and how people decide to engage in unethical behaviours, by integrating recent advances in cognitive neuroscience with experimental behavioural research. Such a multidisciplinary approach, drawing insights from management, psychology, and neuroscience, can help better understand important social issues such as unethical behaviour in organisations. This project may help society mitigate unethical behaviours and promote ethical and prosocial behaviour.

Dr. Yu’s research interests include Neuroeconomics, Social neuroscience, and Organizational Neuroscience. His lab mainly uses brain imaging methods (fMRI/EEG/fNIRS) combined with experimental tasks to study the neuropsychological mechanisms of economic and social decision making. He has published more than 150 research papers in peer-reviewed journals, with over 4900 citations. He serves as the associate editor of Neurobiology of Stress (IF=7.1). Lab website: www.rongjunyu.org

The Humanities and Social Sciences Prestigious Fellowship Scheme supports outstanding investigators in the humanities and social sciences disciplines, allowing awardees to focus on research and writing. No more than ten awards are granted each year.